A guitar without a twang is no guitar…

Through the years, international award-winning film composer and guitar player Vincent van Warmerdam has made quite some twangy tunes for restaurants, jukeboxes, fake spy-themes, and variety shows in the movies, somewhere between surf guitar, cool jazz, and western swing. As often happens some of these tunes are hardly heard or even brutally edited out the entire picture.

Now this collection of rare cinematic guitar instrumentals is lovingly compiled, remastered and ready to be played loud.

Vincent van Warmerdam is widely known for his scores for feature film, documentary, and television. He was awarded European Film Composer of the Year for The Northerners (Alex van Warmerdam) and a Golden Calf for Kicks (Albert ter Heerdt). He scored the Palme D’Or nominated Borgman and the Nipkow awarded documentary series Schuldig.

Rojo (Benjamin Naishtat), the Argentinian feature he scored, was selected for the 2018 competition of Toronto International Film Festival and nominated for the Silver Condor Best Music (Argentina) and winner of the Buma Awards (the Netherlands) best original composition in Film. His latest collaboration with Chilean director Maite Alberdi for her documentary The Mole Agent received the Eye Documentary Award Outstanding Achievement in Original Music. The Mole Agent was nominated for the Oscar, Best Documentary 2021.

He was a founding member of the legendary rocktheatregroup Hauser Orkater and developed as a composer in the musical theatre of the Mexicaanse Hond with his brothers Alex and Marc. He created a serie of musical plays for Orkater: The Formidable Yankee, The Prefab Four, Blackface and Who Murdered Mary Rogers? a.o. and recently created in his own right Murder Ballads, Judee Sill and Not the Tommy Cooper Story with Michel Sluysmans. Now he’s preparing musical theatre about the Dutch born manager of Elvis Presley, Colonel Parker who escaped his homeland the Netherlands for grim reasons. The Rock me Baby theatre tour with Servaes Nelissen, René van ‘t Hof and Kees Van der Vooren about the fictional unsuccessful nederpopgroup the Promise was postponed due to covid-19.

He collaborated with writers Maria Barnas, Kees van Kooten, Sjoerd Kuyper, Guus Kuijer, Jan Veldman and Alex van Warmerdam o.a. and composed for, or worked with the Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Dutch Wind Ensemble, the Metropole Orchestra, Jules Buckley, The Ebony Band, Wolter Wierbos, David Kweksilber, De Kift, Tim Knol, Hennie Vrienten, My Baby, Awkward i, de Toneelmakerij, Het Nationale Toneel, Calefax, Carel Kraayenhof, Barbara Hannigan, the Dutch Philharmonic Orchestra, the Prague Philharmonic Orchestra a.o. and was Edison nominated for the Moondogs popalbum Diamond in the Crowd. With Kees Prins (Jiskefet) he co-wrote the Ajax club anthem ‘Mijn Club’.

He currently plays guitar in the punk-country band Mr. Ferocious. In 2016 made his debut as a novelist with ‘De Plectrumfabriek’. His second novel ‘Boxgeur’ was released in July 2020.


Autumn in Athens
Midnight Walk
The Milkman
The Mole Agent
The Burglary
High Five

My Granpa, the Bankrobber
Under the Surface
Good Morning Stella
Golden Bob
Arosa Sun